Percy Jackson Read-Alikes: Mythical Fantasy for Kids Ages 9-12

Just about every kid who isn't living under a rock knows about the Percy Jackson series of chapter books by Rick Riordan, as well as his other spin-off series. Steeped in Greek mythology, these fantasy novels, usually geared to kids from about nine to 12 years old, feature tween and teen protagonists who are half-god, half-human. Kids are eating these books up, and of course avid readers can't be expected to stop reading in between Riordan's publications. If you have a Percy Jackson fan under your roof, fear not. There are lots more titles to keep them busy until the next Riordan book appears for purchase. And of course, they make perfect gifts for Christmas and Hanukkah!

Here are my top choices for Percy-obsessed readers. Photos below portray one book in the series (usually the first or the most recent), but the book covers and titles link to the entire series. I've also tried to add a little genre information about each chapter book in parentheses after the author's name.

Chapter Books

Pegasus series by Kate O'Hearn (Roman and Greek mythology, female lead character)

The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer Nielsen (imagined kingdom)

The Kronos Chronicles by Marie Rutkowski (altered version of Renaissance Europe, female lead character, imagined kingdom)

The Legacy of Beowulf series by Rebecca Barnhouse (medieval mythology)

The Jaguar Stones by J&P Vokel (Mayan mythology)

Thrones and Bones series by Lou Anders (Norse mythology)

The Blackwell Pages series by K. L. Armstrong (Norse mythology)

The Tiger's Apprentice by Laurence Yep (Chinese mythology)

The Seven Wonders series by Peter Lerangis (Atlantis, Seven Wonders of the World)

The Wings of Fire series by Tui T. Sutherland (imagined kingdom, dragons)

The Spirit Animals series (multiple authors) (shapeshifting, animal mythology)

Five Kingdoms series by Brandon Mull (imagined kingdom)

Gods and Warriors series by Michelle Paver (Bronze Age Greece)

Sea of Trolls trilogy by Nancy Farmer (Norse mythology)

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott (alchemy, Machiavelli)

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman (Norse mythology)

Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life by P. J. Hoover (Egyptian mythology)

Graphic Novels

Did you know that Rick Riordan is authoring a graphic novel (cartoon) series based on his novels? If not, you'll want to follow his Percy Jackson chapter book novels up with one of the six graphics based on his series.

Non-Fiction Mythology Titles

I'm very excited about the renewed interest in mythology that Percy Jackson has ushered in. So, how about a little background in mythology to flesh out the Percy Jackson books? These non-fiction titles make learning about mythology fun.

D'Aulaire's Book of Greek Myths by Ingrid d'Aulaire (Consider d'Aulaire's classic Book of Norse Myths, too.)

National Geographic Kids: Everything Mythology by Blake Hoena

Link disclosure: A Book Long Enough is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. That means if you purchase a book through an Amazon link that appears on my site, I receive a commission.